Austin Film Festival 2022 Winners Of Jury, Audience & Picture Awards

The Austin Film Festival (AFF) has announced the 2022 Film Competition Jury and Audience Award winners alongside the Screenplay Competition winners. In the festival, writers are recognized for their contribution to film, television, theatre and new media. The competitions received over 5,000 film submissions and over 10,000 script submissions.


Narrative FeatureWelcome, Violeta!, written by Fernando Fraiha & Inés Bortagaray, directed by Fernando Fraiha

Documentary FeatureWith this Light, directed by Nicole Bernardi-Reis & Laura Bermúdez 

Comedy Vanguard FeatureThe Library Boys, written/directed by Zane Borg


Dark Matters FeatureThe Domestic, written/directed by Brad Katzen

Narrative ShortOne for Sorrow, Two for Joy, written/directed by Ana Yang

Student ShortSammy, Without Strings, written by Will Henderson, III & Ralph Parker, III, directed by Ralph Parker, III

Documentary ShortGina, directed by Kathryn Prescott

Animated ShortRosemary A.D. (After Dad), directed by Ethan Barrett

Produced Digital SeriesSerjan Bratan, written by Alisher Utev & Sergei Litovchenko, directed by Alisher Utev

Enderby Entertainment Filmmaking Fellowship AwardCharette, written/directed by Sara Pinar Onder

Ghetto Film School Fellowship AwardLose It, written/directed by AJ Taylor

Texas Short Filmmaker Award presented by Austin Movie Gear: Don’t You Go Nowhere, written/directed by Bryan Poyser

Blackmagic Collective Emerging Filmmakers Fellowship AwardHalf, written/directed by Jacob Roberts 

Film Jury winners were selected by jurors including Roy Lee (Barbarian, It, The Ring), Jameel Saleem (Bob’s Burgers, South Park, Disenchantment), Missy Laney (Director of Development, Adult Swim), and Tierney Branda (Senior VP of Physical Production, MGM).

The audience was able to cast their votes for the Audience Awards after each of the screenings.


Marquee FilmSam & Kate, written/directed by Darren Le Gallo

Narrative FeatureSalma’s Home, written/directed by Hanadi Elyan

Documentary FeatureSong of the Cicada, written by Robert Weiss, directed by Aaron & Robert Weiss

Dark Matters FeatureFollow Her, written by Dani Barker, directed by Sylvia Caminer

Comedy FeatureDance Dads, written by Brock Harris & Jared Bonner, directed by Brock Harris

Texas Independent FeatureBeauty Of A Blank Space, written by Ryan Love & Laurel Toupal, directed by Ryan Love 

Narrative ShortThe Red Suitcase, written by Guillaume Levil & Cyrus Neshvad, directed by Cyrus Neshvad

Documentary ShortFree To Care, directed by Chris Temple & Owen Dubeck

Animated ShortRosemary A.D. (After Dad), directed by Ethan Barrett

Produced Digital SeriesTIE Days Jobs, written by Stevie Wain, Directed by Stevie Wain & Auri Jackson and Mt. Mystic Rangers, written by Jeremiah Dunlap & Cory Quintard, directed by Jeremiah Dunlap

The winners of the Script Competition were selected Jim Hart (Hook, Bram Stoker’s Dracula, Contact), Nicole Perlman (Guardians of the Galaxy, Captain Marvel, Pokémon Detective Pikachu), Tripper Clancy (Stuber, I Am Not Okay With This, Die Hart), & Kelly Edwards (Living Single, Girlfriends, The Parkers, Clueless, Two Guys and a Girl). 


Drama Feature Screenplay Award presented by The Writers Guild of America, EastThe Fuck-It List by Nick Gambino

Drama Teleplay Pilot AwardWayward by Christopher Cramer

Drama Teleplay Spec AwardThe Crown: “Last Looks” by Claire Winters

Comedy Feature Screenplay AwardSense & Sensibility by Sal Neslusan

Comedy Teleplay Pilot AwardUntethered by Charlie Frazier & Chris Frazier

Comedy Teleplay Spec AwardCurb Your Enthusiasm: “JEFFREY” by Clayton Jordan

Digital Series AwardWalk Into a Bar by Cassandra Rose

Fiction Podcast Award presented by Voyage MediaCeleritas by Alexander Adell

Short Screenplay AwardSlayfest by Mark Renshaw

Playwriting AwardTalk of the Town by Mike Bencivenga

Horror Screenplay AwardThe Psycho Killers Guide to Love by JP LeRoux 

Sci-Fi Screenplay AwardPaschar by Jennifer Burns

Rooster Teeth Fellowship Awards, BIPOC categoryMomentous by Ana Maria Defillo

Rooster Teeth Fellowship Awards, Women & Animation categoryAllegra Sparkle’s Guide to the Great Composers (You Might Not Have Heard Of) by Lillie Gardner

Warner Brothers Pilot AwardTin Can Alley by Thomas Schoch

Enderby Entertainment AwardThree Faces of Hunger and Thirst by HF Crum

AMC One-Hour Pilot AwardSouvenir, Alaska by Mac Smullen

Josephson Entertainment Screenwriting FellowshipUntethered by Charlie Frazier & Chris Frazier and The Gold Fish by Barbara Ward Thall

The Austin Film Festival ran from October 27 to November 3, 2022 offering Film Festival and Writers Conference programming in-person at various venues around Austin. Next year’s Austin Film Festival and Writers Conference will be held from October 26 to November 2, 2023. For more information about the Austin Film Festival and its programming, please visit

Click here for full article.

By Armando Tinoco

November 7, 2022

Copyright © 2023. DolGer|films All rights reserved.